Whitley Awards 2014

Post date: 
13 Aug 2013 - 10:30
Other News
The Whitley Fund for Nature (WFN) is a UK registered charity offering “Whitley Awards” to outstanding biodiversity conservation leaders around the world.  Whitley Awards are prize of international standing and a form of project funding (currently £35,000 over one year). The application period for the Whitley Awards 2013 is now open – the deadline for applications is Thursday October 31st 2013. 
Please visit www.whitleyaward.org to download an application form and find guidance on how to apply and eligibility. 
The Awards will be presented by WFN Patron, HRH The Princess Royal, at the annual Whitley Awards Ceremony in May 2014. Successful applicants will receive funding in June 2014. 
What is a Whitley Award?  The Awards: 
  are the result of a global annual competition for effective conservation leadership. 
  are worth £35,000 GBP in project funding over one year. 
  celebrate passionate leaders and effective communicators –  individuals who inspire but who are backed up by a committed team. 
  significantly boost international profile as well as providing project funding and support. 
  champion leaders working in biodiversity rich but resource & capacity poor nations. 
  enable winners to join a  growing network of previous Whitley Award winners, and the opportunity to share ideas, results and apply for  further Continuation Funding of up to £70,000 over two years. 
We look for: 
  Projects that explicitly address biodiversity conservation issues. 
  Value for money, potential for replication and scalability. 
  Evidence of proven success & likelihood of future sustainability. 
  Community involvement. 
  Sound science – the team leader need not be a scientist but the team needs to be able to evidence they are taking appropriate action and have the required skills and experience. 
  Impacts not actions – We support projects that can evidence real change. 
  WFN does not fund undergraduate projects, expeditions, MScs, PhDs or governmental work. 
  WFN works to build the capacity of less developed nations to conduct conservation.  To be eligible to apply, the project must take place in a country that is NOT defined as a HIGH-INCOME ECONOMY  by the World Bank (exceptions include Equatorial  Guinea and certain island nations in the Caribbean).  
  The Awards are aimed at nationals of the countries or regions where their conservation activities are focused (i.e. they were born there or have lived there a long time and have achieved national status) or are local to the region in which they work. 
For more information, please visit www.whitleyaward.org or email info@whitleyaward.org